Mark Keating

Welcome to the official website of writer and musician, Mark Keating, author of the novels ‘The Drowning’, ‘Infinitesimal Gradations’ and ‘Here Comes the Night’.

Featured Works

My Work


In this section, I have regularly updated features on national hunt horse racing and handicapping techniques which aid to keep a private handicap database on the jumps racing industry in Britain and Ireland

Novels and Novellas

I have three published pieces available in this section. In 2017, I released the self published novella ‘The Drowning’, followed in 2019 by my debut novel ‘Infinitesimal Gradations’ published by Pegasus Publications. In Spring 2020, my third release ‘Here Comes the Night’ was released by Lulu Publications.


My music demos are available to listen here. These are instrumental pieces including the orchestral piece ‘Hypothesis now/ooorrrdddeeeerrrr!!

About Me

Mark Keating from Fossa in County Kerry was born on February 26, 1985. He was educated in St Brendan’s College and after completing an electrical apprenticeship, he followed his passion and moved to Carragh, County Kildare to ride race horses for the legendary trainer, Arthur Moore. While in Kildare, he also completed a horsemanship course and began writing for the horse racing magazine 3 Furlongs Out, as well as keeping his own blog. Mark’s fascination with the dream logic of David Lynch’s movies, the avant garde writing of James Joyce and the stream of consciousness vision in Maya Deren’s work, inspired him to write short stories and in 2017 he self-published the novella The Drowning. On the day of it’s release, he finished the first draft of what would be his first novel Infinitesimal Gradations. Since his early teens, Mark has been writing music. Influenced by the likes of Radiohead and Smashing Pumpkins, as well as experimental jazz and dark, classical musical compositions.